Too busy earnin

Sorry. I’ve been busy lately more so then usual. Prioritizing is a big thing and just because writing is more just for me and those 4 of you reading, it’s pretty low on the list.

Quick summary of what I’ve been doing since my last piece:

Couple of more classics – all the Ardennes of which the unforgettable edition of Liege, where I tried to start a snow ball fight, but everyone chickened out. Or maybe was too cold to enjoy the spectacle.

I did some altitude training in Mammoth Lakes, California where pictures tell a better story, so check out my instagram( https://www.instagram.com/p/BFOz3fojsFc/?taken-by=tomashuuns&hl=en) and this video:

I raced the Amgen Tour of California where I got to see A LOT of my friends and fans that I don’t get to see here in Europe. I even managed to come out of the race with my first win of the year and got the most courageous jersey for my efforts and riding style. Think people of Cali like me for some reason. It was really cool to see the Hincapie(now Holowesko-Citadel) dudes. Can anyone guess how many Latvias were in the race? 6! 3 riders – myself, Krists(Axeon) and Andzs(Holowesko), but also 3 staff – Aldis(Etixx), Anita(Novo) and Boriss(Katusha). It was really cool to say the least. Yes, the transfers were a bit too much, but the course was exciting and that made up for it. Plus it was my first race with a team chef. Barbara and Erin did an awesome job and definitely without them by day 5 I’d be shoving down food, instead of going to the dinner table with excitement.

After California I went back home. Latvia. Carnikava. Lovely. Some interviews, some photo shoots, some press conferences, trip to the hair dresser, but mostly just enjoying being home. I had a nice little break from hard training and just did some steady rides. I also jumped on my MTB. Well actually my new Cannondale F-SI MTB to get ready for the Euro MTB Marathon Champs held in Sigulda, Latvia on the 5th of June. It was an opportunity I couldn’t pass on and had been planning on doing the race if I could for a year or so already.

I spent three rides on the course. One of the rides I did in the elite company of Matiss Preimanis. One of the best Latvian XCO riders. All I did was follow him on the downhills and try and see what lines he’s taking. That gave me a lot more confidence in my skills that have slowly gotten a bit worse as I haven’t been riding MTB races for a while.

IMG_3819
Nice and clean before getting some dirt between my teeth

I thought that if all went well I could medal. I wasn’t too far off with my guess, but all didn’t go too well and I ended up 8th. Still not a terrible result for my first MTB race this year.

Actually the result didn’t matter much after the race, because the emotions, the atmosphere and the feels I had after finishing were awesome. The people of Latvia don’t always come out and cheer you on, but this time there were so many fans on the road. Seemed like all of them kept cheering me on. Of course I’ve had fans cheer me on in other races, but hearing it in Latvian makes you turn the pedals even harder. The race itself was exciting and hard. The course was as hilly as Latvia can be, which made it physically and technically demanding. Even the world champ Lakata said it had been a hard and also very well organized race. There were some other really good riders in the race, so to be racing against them on home roads was brilliant.

To clear some things up. No I won’t be headed to Rio to ride the MTB race. Marathon and XCO are two different events and XCO is the only Olympic MTB event and I wouldn’t fair as well as I could in Marathon. Also a lot of people have asked me about the Cannondale Lefty fork. I can tell you it’s a little similar to heights – if you don’t look down, you wouldn’t be able to tell you’re missing something for more stability. It’s a really neat piece of equipment and I’m stoked I got to ride it.

The days home were unseasonably warm and even strawberries started ripening. Fresh salad, spinach, arugula, radishes and berries from the garden definitely have restored my bodies vitamin necessities and I’m ready for the biggest stage race of my career. The Tour de Suisse. 9 days, lots of climbing, lots of hard efforts and all World Tour teams to compete against. Big days ahead.

skujins
Stage 7 winner. Me.

Atvainojos, ka ilgi neesmu rakstījis. Spēja sadalīt prioritātes ir svarīga un diemžēl bloga rakstīšana sev un četriem citiem lasītājiem ir diezgan zemu šajā sarakstā.

Lūk, neliels ieskats tajā, ko esmu paveicis kopš iepriekšējā raksta:

Nobraucu vēl pāris pavasara klasikas – Ardennes, no kurām arī neaizmirstamā Ljēža, kurā centos uzsākt sniega kauju, tomēr neviens neuzdrošinājās man atbildēt. Vai iespējams visi bija pārāk nosaluši.

Arī nedaudz patrenējos augstkalnē. Mammoth Lakes, Kalifornijā bija tik skaisti, ka bildes var izstāstīt vairāk kā es spēšu te uzrakstīt, tādēļ droši apskati bildes šeit: https://www.instagram.com/p/BFOz3fojsFc/?taken-by=tomashuuns&hl=en , un vari arī apsaktīt augstāk rakstā esošo video.

Piedalījos arī Kalifornijas daudzdienu velobraucienā, kur satiku daudzos ASV dzīvojošos draugus un arī satiku tos fanus, kuri Eiropas pusē neparādās. Kā arī ieguvu savu pirmo uzvaru šogad, par to saņemot arī drosmīgākā braucēja kreklu. Bija lieliski satikt “Hincapie”(nu jau “Holowesko- Citadel”) braucējus. Vai kāds zina, cik latvieši piedalījās Kalifornijas daudzdienā? 6! 3 braucēji – es, Krists(Axeon) un Andžs(Holowesko), kā arī trīs letiņi apkalpē – Anita(Novo), Boriss(Katusha) un Aldis(Etixx). Jāsaka, ka tas sacensības padarīja vēl baudāmākas. Jā, pārbraucieni bija gari un nogurdinoši, tomēr jāsaka, ka trase bija izveidota ļoti interesanta, smaga un aizraujoša skatītājiem un braucējiem. Kā arī šīs bija pirmās sacensības, kurās par mums rūpējās komandas pavārs. Barbara un Erin padarīja ēdienreizes baudāmas un šoreiz pēc piektā posma nevajadzēja tikai pārtiku stumt lejā par rīkli, bet gan uz vakariņām soļoju ar smaidu sejā.

IMG_3845
Along with the current Euro Marathon Champ and good buddy Peeter Pruus

Pēc Kalifornijas devos atpakaļ mājās. Carnikava mani sagaidīja atplestām rokām. Pāris intervijas, fotogrāfēšanās, preses konferences, ātrs friziera apmeklējums, bet vairāk vienkārši izbaudīju Latvijas svaigo gaisu. Intensīvus treniņus nebraucu, bet tikai nedaudz izripināju pāris garākas dienas. Atsvaidzināju savas MTB iemaņas, lai varētu piedalīties EČ Maratonā. Sigulda paveica lielisku darbu, lai izveidotu sarežģītu, interesantu un skatītājiem parocīgu trasi. Protams, šādu iespēju garām nespēju laist.

Trīs treniņus pirms sacensībām uz kalnu velosipēda biju nobraucu. Vienu no tiem kopā ar Matīsu Preimani, kas noteikti ir viens no labākajiem Latvijas XCO braucējiem. Tajā treniņā tik centos sekot un mācīties no Matīsa trajektorijas. Uz velosipēda jutos daudz drošāk un pārliecinātāks savās spējās, jo tomēr bija pagājis kāds laiciņš kopš piedalījos kārtīgos kalnu divriteņu mačos.

Domāju, ka, ja viss noritēs ļoti labi, spēšu cīnīties par medaļu. Mana prognoze nebija tik tālu. Tomēr viss tik ļoti labi kā gribētos negāja, bet spēju finišēt cienījamā astotajā vietā. Ne tik ļoti slikts rezultāts manās pirmajās šā gada MTB sacensībās.

Patiesībā rezultātam nebija tik ļoti liela nozīme, jo pēc sacensībām gūtās emocijas no atmosfēras, fanu uzmundrinājumiem un sajūtas, ka latvieši var, bija pietiekoši daudz, lai dienu sauktu par izdevušos. Bija sajūta, ka visi uzmundrināja tikai mani. Protams, arī citās sacensībās fani man ir uzsaukuši un atpazinušo, tomēr, izdzirdot saucienus latviešu valodā, tiem ir pavisam cits spēks. Pašas sacensības bija smagas un aizraujošas. Trase Latvijas apstākļiem bija izveidota cik vien sarežģīta iespējama, kas to padarīja ne tikai fiziski, bet arī tehniski smagu. Pat pasaules čempions Lakata atzina, ka sacensības bijušas ļoti labi organizētas un patiešām smagas. Bija arī citi pasaulē pazīstami braucēji un šī iespēja sacensties pret viņiem uz mājas ceļiem bija brīnešķīga.

13391619_622569587901060_4484914737406310476_o
All focus

Es neplānoju piedalīties Rio MTB disciplīnā, jo XCO un Maratons ir divas pavisam dažādas distances. Ja arī Latvijai būtu kāda vieta, tad es nebūtu pat kandidātos uz startu Rio. Daudzi man arī prasīja kā ir braukt ar “Cannondale” “Lefty” dakšu. Varu teikt tā, ka tas ir līdzīgi kā atrasties augstu – kamēr neskaties uz leju, nemaz nezini, ka kaut kā apakšā trūkst. Tiešām lieliska dakša un man bija liels prieks beidzot to izmēģināt mačos.

Latvijā laiciņš bija neparasti karsts un pat zemenes dārzā sāka gatavoties. Tad nu uzņēmu vajadzīgos vitamīnus no zemenēm, dārza salātiem, redīsiem un spinātiem, lai Šveices tūrē būtu gatavs cīnīties ar puikām, kas gatavojas “Tour de France”. Šī noteikti ir prestižākā un lielākā daudzdiena, ko līdz šim būšu braucis. Deviņas dienas, daudz kalnu, daudz smagu brīžu un visas Pasaules Tūres komandas pret kurām sacensties. Lai tās smagās dienas tik nāk!

IMG_3755
People seem to like this one. Not sure who that fan shaking my hand was, but he seemed cool

12 thoughts on “Too busy earnin

  1. At least five reads for this post! Do not underestimate the silent readers 🙂 reading and enjoying every time! Un super, ka saņēmies arī tulkojumam.

  2. Thanks for writing this stuff for me and the other three. It takes up a lot of your time but you’re great at it! Interesting (the reason it’s important to have team chefs on races), funny (going to the hairdresser but wearing hats all the time), and of course well-written. Watch out for those fans though – they can be crazy!

  3. Gr-reat video! Kind of a metaphor for Ride_Argyle team, eh? Sounds like you’ve been riding in Italy? Wonderful!
    Interesting TDF. I cheated and took Froome and Quintana in my fantasy cycling league picks. Hey – I picked Cam Newton as my quarterback at the start of American NFL season last year – he wound up in the Super Bowl! I’m better at picking cycling GC and breakaway winners, I think. Sprinters, not so much. No clue why I haven’t tried hockey. Both Indy and I know it and love hockey. Allez, Avalanches, allez!
    … and now the real reason for writing on WordPress – because there’s more room than Twitter!
    Nu pastāstiet mums Tom – kā jūs apskatīt jūsu lomu nākotnē ? Varbūt Alpīnists ? Vai Jens Voigt tipa aizstājējzīmes – breakaway ? Varbūt pat nākotnes GC čempions!! ? Ko saka jūsu treneri un “eksperti” ?
    Paldies!
    Val

    • That band really impressed me when I saw them live. Stuck in my head. I haven’t been in Italy this year actually.
      Definitely get into hockey. Will make watching it much more fun.

      Par nākotni grūti spriest, bet ne kalnu kaza, ne trīs nedēļu kopvērtējuma līderis nebūšu. Tomēr atrāvienos un viendienu sacensībās domāju, ka izdosies pacīnīties.

      • My geography classes left me for a moment. I’m multiplexing too much, a little stuck en France. Thinking of Jensie’s horrible crashes two years in a row, one on Col de Peyresourde. I know where you are. El stupido, Val! ha!

  4. Keep on writing…even if it’s only for the five of us who read. :v) Great picture with you and Peter…my two favorite riders! Keep up the good work!

Leave a comment